2020 National High School Winners

Just Announced! Congrats!

List of 2020 National High School Production Awards Winners

Four schools from the Chicago/ Midwest Regional Awards Won in the National Contest!

The Chicago/Midwest Winners are:

Short Form-Fiction – Somnum (Sleep), Mundelein High School
Allan Rodriguez
Kent Meister, Advisor

Sports-Live Event – WA Basketball vs Streamwood, Wheaton Academy
Wesley Kersey, Rachel Cobb, Chas Lewchanyn, Kenna Tolman
Matt Hockett, Advisor


Animation/Graphics/Special Effects – Brutus, Barrington High School
Julia Samborski
Jeff Doles, Advisor


Talent (News) – Derryl Barnes, Jr. Talent Reel, South Elgin High School/Beacon Academy
Derryl Barnes, Jr
Ben Erickson, Advisor


List of 2020 National High School Production Awards Nominees

13 Nominees from the Chicago/Midwest Region!

Winners will be announced on Thursday, Feb. 11th at 12 pm Central
Streamed via The EMMYS® App: watch.theemmys.tv

The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 2020 National Student Production Awards. Nominees were selected from high school student entries across the country in 24 programming and craft categories. “The future journalists, analysts, correspondents and entertainers of the next generation will be found among these talented young nominees represented here,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “Highlighting their work and encouraging their pursuit of excellence is one of the primary mandates of our Foundation.”

“We are thrilled to be able to honor the extraordinary students and their teachers at the National level and equally proud that many Student Production Award recipients cite the recognition by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences as the validation that propelled them to choose a career in media,” said Danielle Mannion, Education Chair, NATAS.

This year’s submissions were successfully culled from over 2000 entries from the regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Entries were judged by selected industry professionals and media academics.

Recipients will be announced in early February via a web stream produced by NATAS.

Chicago/Midwest Regional High School Winners were announced on April 24, 2020.  See videos of all winning entries.

See the list of 2020 Chicago/Midwest High School Nominees